اللاجئة السابقة صوفيا Vuelo يصبح أول قاض في ولاية مينيسوتا الامريكيه مونغ

Vuelo صوفيا اللاجئين السابقين يصبح "القاضي" الهمونغ-أمريكا الأولى في ولاية مينيسوتا
القاضي صوفيا Vuelo موجهة الجمهور بعد أن أخذت اليمين. ريتشارد تسونج-تاتاري-ستار تريبيون

اللاجئين السابقين وشارع. المحامي بول Vuelo صوفيا, وكان اليمين الدستورية كالقاضي الهمونغ-أمريكا الأولى في ولاية مينيسوتا.

إذا كان Vuelo قد طلب في سنواتها الأصغر سنا حيث أنها ستكون, وقالت أنها ربما لن أقول "يجلس على مقاعد البدلاء". في الحقيقة, المقرر لها للذهاب إلى الميدان القانوني كان اختياراً الوظيفي الراحل وخلفيتها ليست نموذجية من معظم القضاة. Vuelo كان أصغر من 6 الأطفال الذين أصبحوا لاجئين في سن مبكرة، وانتهى إلى الذين يعيشون في مخيم للاجئين التايلندية.

“كنا أفقر من ماوس الكنيسة” -صوفيا Vuelo

عندما جاؤوا إلى الولايات المتحدة وكان لديهم أي أصول, لا توجد أموال, ولا توجد اتصالات. الاضطرار إلى العيش في مخيم للاجئين في تايلند, جماعة اللوثرية في الاتحاد اﻷوراسي كلير, فتحت أيديهم من ولاية ويسكونسن. الجماعة ساعدت أسرتها للبحث عن السكن, الالتحاق بالمدرسة, تعلم اللغة الإنجليزية وأن تصبح مألوفة للحياة في أمريكا.

جعل الأسرة والأصدقاء سعيدة حين تحدث فرقا في العالم. Vuelo نموذج دور كبير لمتابعة. وقالت أنها شهدت العقبات والتحديات التي سوف تسهم في الثروة من المعرفة والخبرة وقادرة على توفير.

في 1998 Vuelo حضر "مدرسة القانون بجامعة هاملين".

Vuelo عملت كمساعد خاص مقاطعة النائب بعد التخرج. بعد ذلك, وقالت أنها أصبحت مدع مدينة مساعد في روشستر قبل أن ينتقل ليصبح محام عام في مقاطعة رامسيت. حياتها المهنية القانونية المثيرة للإعجاب لم يكن الإنجاز الوحيد لها. Vuelo أيضا أسست شركتها الخاصة للقانون في 2006, متخصصة في حماية الأحداث, قانون الأسرة, والقانون الجنائي.

Vuelo مواقع كل من لها خبرة مهنية وتربيتهم صعبة كأسباب وراء لها النجاح الوظيفي. ترى أنها قادمة من البدايات المتواضعة يعني أنها يمكن أن نقدر الأمور أكثر, يعرف قيمة العمل الشاق، ومن وجهة نظر فريدة من نوعها في الحالات التي تواجه الأفراد المحرومين.

تجربة التظليل والوظيفية بعض من الأصول الأكثر قيمة لها.

الساعة 46 سنوات من العمر, Vuelo وهي تستعد الآن لخطوة في دورها الجديد كقاض, بدور عقدت فقط باثنين آخرين الهمونغ الأمريكيين في تاريخ البلاد. المتواضع من أي وقت مضى, Vuelo يشرح لها النجاح إلا من خلال تفانيها الراسخ للعمل الشاق, تثبت مرة أخرى أن بغض النظر عن الأصول الخاصة بك, الطريق إلى النجاح غالباً ما يبدأ بقرار لمحاولة.

وكان صوت هذا اللاجئ فقط عمدة هيلانة, مونتانا

 

ابحث عن المساعدة بالقرب منك

استخدام فيندلو للبحث عن الخدمات والموارد في مدينتك.

أبدء البحث

حول قاعة المشاهير
أوسلو الشهرة ويضم اللاجئين والمهاجرين من جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة الذين فرقا في مجتمعاتهم. في أوسلو, نعتقد أن القادمين الجدد يجعلون بلادنا مكانًا أفضل . الأفراد الذين نميزهم و نبرزهم يظهرون بالضبط - إنهم أمثلة حول كيف يساهم المهاجرين واللاجئين في بلدنا . إذا كنت ترغب في التي ظهرت أو يود أن يرشح أي فرد أن تكون واردة في الشهرة لدينا, يرجى مراسلة البريد الإلكتروني: wilson@therefugeecenter.org.

Former refugee Sophia Vuelo becomes Minnesota’s first Hmong-American judge

Former Refugee Sophia Vuelo becomes Minnesota’s First Hmong-American Judge
Judge Sophia Vuelo addressed the audience after she took the oath. RICHARD TSONG-TAATARII – STAR TRIBUNE

Former Refugee and St. Paul lawyer Sophia Vuelo, was sworn in as Minnesota’s first Hmong-American judge.

If Vuelo would have been asked in her younger years where she’d be, she probably wouldn’t say “sitting on the bench.” In fact, her decision to go into the legal field was a late career choice and her background is not typical of most judges. Vuelo was the youngest of 6 children who became refugees early in life and ended up living in a Thai refugee camp.

“We were poorer than a church mouse” -Sophia Vuelo

When they came to the United States they had no assets, no money, and no connections.  Having to live in the Thailand refugee camp, a Lutheran congregation in Eau Claire, Wisconsin opened their hands. The congregation helped her family to find housing, enroll in school, learn English and to become familiar to life in America.

Making family and friends happy while making a difference in the world. Vuelo is a great role model to follow. She has experienced obstacles and challenges that will contribute to the wealth of knowledge and experience she is able to provide.

In 1998 Vuelo attended Hamline University School of Law.

Vuelo worked as special assistant county attorney after graduation. Afterwards, she became an assistant city prosecutor in Rochester before moving on to become a public defender in Ramset County. Her impressive legal career was not her only accomplishment. Vuelo also founded her own law firm in 2006, specializing in juvenile protection, family law, and criminal law.

Vuelo sites both her professional experience and difficult upbringing as reasons behind her career success. She feels that coming from humble beginnings means that she can appreciate things more, knows the value of hard work and has a unique point of view on situations that underprivileged individuals experience.

Shadowing and career experience are some of her most valued assets.

At 46 years old, Vuelo is now preparing to step into her new role as a judge, a role only held by two other Hmong-Americans in the history of the country. Ever humble, Vuelo explains her success only by her steadfast dedication to hard work, proving once again that no matter your origins, the path to success often begins with a decision to try.

This refugee was just voted the mayor of Helena, Montana

 

Refugees shaking hands

Find help near you

Use FindHello to search for services and resources in your city.

Start your search

About Hall of Fame
USAHello Hall of Fame features refugees and immigrants from around the United States who are making a difference in their communities. At USAHello, we believe newcomers make our country a better place. The individuals we feature show exactly that - they are examples of how immigrants and refugees contribute to our country. If you are interested in being featured or would like to nominate an individual to be featured in our Hall of Fame, email: wilson@therefugeecenter.org.