Как приветствовать вновь прибывших в США

Как можно принять беженцев, иммигранты, и другие новички в США? Вот 8 способы приветствовать вновь прибывших в вашей общине.

1) Learn how to pronounce newcomers’ имена

Одна важная вещь, вы можете помочь новичкам почувствовать себя желанным гостем, научиться произносить их имена. Узнайте Советы о том, как произносить имена, которые звучат иностранных вам.

2) Learn skills to begin volunteering with newcomers in your own community

Полный наших Бесплатные онлайн учебные программы чтобы узнать, как эффективно добровольно с беженцами. Когда вы закончите, Поиск наших “FindHello” базы данных для локальной организации для поддержки в вашем городе.

3) Будьте готовы прислушиваться к проблемам установленных жителей в свои общины

Ваши самые сложные роль как сторонник для новичков будет меньше приветствуя членов вашего собственного сообщества. Будучи хорошим защитником означает прослушивания связи страхи и тревоги-приветствуя членов сообщества. Если вы уволить их озабоченности как предрассудки или эгоизм, Вы не будет завоевать сердца и умы.

Вместо этого, признать, что вещи меняются, и выяснить, каковы их пожелания. Напомните им, что беженцы, и многие другие иммигранты слишком, потому что они пытаются уйти от террора и конфликт, не приносят с собой, и что вовлечение людей и делает их чувствовать себя желанными Лучшая профилактика. Напоминания иммигрантов предков также полезны с некоторыми группами.

Вы можете также выделить срабатываний, приносят иммигрантов с ними. Найти точки соприкосновения путем выявления аналогичных значений, которые новички имеют с-приветствуя членов общины – трудолюбием и устойчивости, религиозные и традиционные общества, Семейные ценности – и строить ваш Адвокация,. Вы найдете, что есть много вещей, которые некоторых групп беженцев не имеют общего с более консервативных американцев, кто может возмущаться новичков просто потому, что они не понимают их.

4) Buy a shirt and wear a message of welcome to newcomers

Вы можете носить сообщение приветствия, когда вы вне и около в вашем городе. USAHello продает футболки с сообщением “Добро пожаловать. Это ваш дом, слишком” в восьми разных языках. Доходы поддержать нашу работу. Теперь купить рубашку.

5) Работа с ваш город и уезд должностными лицами объявить ваше сообщество гостеприимный город

Приветствуя Америка Это национальное движение, которая поощряет городов и поселков, чтобы стать более инклюзивных места.

6) Teach children about refugees and other newcomers both at school and at home

Обучение детей о беженцев может быть сложной задачей, но это также важная вещь, чтобы сделать. Вот некоторые идеи, чтобы помочь вам поговорить с вашим детям о беженцах.

7) Прокат новичков и учиться включительно найма

Исследования показывают, беженцы и другие новички очень ценные части рабочей силы. Нанять их! Мы добавляем новичок friendly работодателей в нашу базу данных. Напишите нам Поэтому мы можем добавить вас. Затем, рассмотреть пути содействия английского языка, обучение на рабочем месте. Ваша компания может дать сотрудникам времени во время их рабочей недели, чтобы заработать их GED® дипломы с помощью нашей Бесплатные ВГО® курс подготовки.

Если вы ищете для дополнительной поддержки на как нанять и работать с сотрудниками, которые являются беженцами или иммигрантов, Вы можете найти больше ресурсов и технической поддержки от наших друзей на Более высокие преимущества.

8) План или присутствовать событие для Всемирного дня беженцев или приветствуя неделя

Всемирный день беженцев (20 июня) Это в день, чтобы отпраздновать силу и стойкость беженцев по всему миру. Многие общины в Соединенных Штатах проводятся мероприятия в течение месяца в июне. Приветствуя Неделя празднуется каждый сентябрь. Посетите наши друзья WeAreAllAmerica.org чтобы найти событие в вашей общине.

Подробнее

Поддержки программ, которые помогают беженцам

Делая пожертвование для USAHello, Поддержка технологии и образования, которая помогает беженцам добиться успеха в США.

Пожертвуйте сегодня

How to welcome newcomers to the USA

How can I welcome refugees, immigrants, and other newcomers to the USA? Here are 8 ways to welcome newcomers into your community.

1) Learn how to pronounce newcomers’ names

One important thing you can to do help newcomers feel welcome is to learn how to pronounce their names. Learn tips on how to pronounce names that sound foreign to you.

2) Learn skills to connect with newcomers in your own community

Complete our online welcoming course to learn how to effectively welcome, support, volunteer with, or simply connect to newcomers. When you are done, search our “FindHello” database for a local organization to support.

3) Be prepared to listen to the concerns of established residents in your communities

Your most challenging role as an advocate for newcomers will be among less welcoming members of your own community. Being a good advocate means listening with respect to the fears and worries of non-welcoming community members. If you dismiss their concerns as prejudice or selfishness, you will not win hearts and minds.

Instead, acknowledge that things are changing, and find out what their wishes are. Remind them that refugees, and many other immigrants too, come because they are trying to get away from terror and conflict, not bring it with them, and that engaging people and making them feel welcome is the best prevention. Reminders of immigrant ancestors are also helpful with some groups.

You can also highlight the positives that immigrants bring with them. Find common ground by identifying similar values that newcomers have with non-welcoming community members – work ethic and resilience, religious and traditional societies, family values – and build your advocacy around that. You will find there are plenty of things that some refugee groups have in common with the more conservative Americans, who may resent newcomers simply because they don’t understand them.

4) Buy a shirt and wear a message of welcome to newcomers

You can wear a message of welcome when you are out and about in your city. USAHello sells shirts with the message “Welcome. This is your home, too” in eight different languages. Proceeds support our work. Buy a shirt now.

5) Work with your city and county officials to declare your community a welcoming city

Welcoming America is a national movement that encourages cities and towns to become more inclusive places.

6) Teach children about refugees and other newcomers both at school and at home

Teaching children about refugees can be a challenge but is also an important thing to do. Here are some ideas to help you talk to your children about refugees.

7) Hire newcomers and learn inclusive employment practices

Research shows refugees and other newcomers are very valuable parts of the workforce. Hire them! Then, consider ways to promote English language learning on the job. Your company can give employees time during their workweek to earn their GED® diplomas using our free GED®  preparation course.

If you are looking for additional support on how to hire and work with employees who are refugees or immigrants, you can find more resources and technical support from our friends at Higher Advantage.

If you own a business, please sign the We Hire Refugees declaration today! Even if you aren’t in a position to hire refugees, you can still sign the declaration to support and welcome refugees. Let’s speak with a louder voice about how refugees make our companies, economy and communities stronger and advance initiatives that support refugee resettlement.

8) Plan or attend an event for World Refugee Day or Welcoming Week

World Refugee Day (June 20th) is a day to celebrate the strength and resilience of refugees around the globe. Many communities across the United States host events during the month of  June. Welcoming Week is celebrated each September. Visit our friends at WeAreAllAmerica.org to find an event in your community.

Learn more

Refugees shaking hands

Help refugees and immigrants in the USA

By donating to USAHello, you support the technology and education that help newcomers succeed in the USA.

Donate today