如何欢迎新移民到美国

我如何能欢迎难民, 移民, 和其他新移民到美国? 在这里 8 欢迎新人加入社区的方式.

1) 了解如何发音为"新人"’ 名称

一个重要的事情, 你可以做帮助新人感到欢迎是学习如何发音他们的名字. 学习 提示如何发音名称,听起来外国你.

2) 学习技能,开始与自己社区中的新人一起做志愿者

完成我们 免费在线培训课程 若要了解如何有效地与难民志愿者. 当您完成, 搜索我们 “芬德你好” 数据库,用于支持您所在城镇的本地组织.

3) 准备好倾听社区中已有居民的关注

你最有挑战性的角色,作为新人的倡导者将自己的社区不欢迎成员之间. 作为一个好的倡导者意味着听力方面的恐惧和担忧的非欢迎社区成员. 如果你解雇他们作为偏见或自私的担忧, 你会不会赢民心.

相反, 承认,事情正在改变, 并找出他们的愿望是什么. 提醒他们难民, 和许多其他移民太, 来,因为他们试图摆脱恐怖和冲突, 不带他们, 和这的人进行接触,使他们感到受欢迎就是最好的预防. 提醒我们的祖先移民乐于助人也同一些集团.

你还可以突出显示移民带着他们的积极因素. 通过识别新来者与不受欢迎的社区成员相似的价值观(职业道德和弹性),找到共同点, 宗教和传统的社会, 家庭价值观 — — 和建立你在那附近的宣传. 你会发现有很多的一些难民群体的共同点更保守的美国人的东西, 谁可能会怨恨新来的人只是因为他们不懂.

4) 买一件衬衫,穿欢迎新人的信息

当你在你的城市里, 你可以带着欢迎的信息。. USAHello 销售印有消息的衬衫 “欢迎. 这是你的家, 太” 用八种不同的语言. 收益支持我们的工作. 现在就买件衬衣.

5) 与您的市县官员合作,宣布您的社区为欢迎城市

欢迎美国 是一个全国性的运动, 鼓励城镇成为更具包容性的地方.

6) 在学校和家中向儿童传授难民和其他新移民

教孩子们关于难民可以是一个挑战,但也是重要的事情要做. 这里是一些 想法,以帮助您与您的孩子谈论难民.

7) 雇佣新人,学习包容性就业实践

研究表明,难民和其他新移民是劳动力中非常有价值的部分. 雇用他们! 我们正在将新来者友好的雇主添加到我们的数据库中. 给我们发电子邮件 这样我们就可以添加你. 然后, 考虑如何促进英语学习工作. Your company can give employees time during their work week to earn their GED® 文凭使用我们的 free GED® 准备课程.

如果你正在寻找如何雇用和工作与难民或移民员工额外支持, 你可以从我们的朋友在找更多的资源和技术支持 较高的优势.

8) 计划或参加世界难民日或欢迎周的活动

世界难民日 (6 月 20 日) 是庆祝的强度和韧性的世界各地难民一天. 美国各地的许多社区举办活动期间 6 月. 欢迎的星期是庆祝每9月. 访问我们的朋友 WeAreAllAmerica.org 在你的社区中查找事件.

了解更多信息

支持计划,以帮助难民

通过捐赠给 USAHello, 你支持技术和教育,以帮助难民在美国取得成功.

今天捐

How to welcome newcomers to the USA

How can I welcome refugees, immigrants, and other newcomers to the USA? Here are 8 ways to welcome newcomers into your community.

1) Learn how to pronounce newcomers’ names

One important thing you can to do help newcomers feel welcome is to learn how to pronounce their names. Learn tips on how to pronounce names that sound foreign to you.

2) Learn skills to connect with newcomers in your own community

Complete our online welcoming course to learn how to effectively welcome, support, volunteer with, or simply connect to newcomers. When you are done, search our “FindHello” database for a local organization to support.

3) Be prepared to listen to the concerns of established residents in your communities

Your most challenging role as an advocate for newcomers will be among less welcoming members of your own community. Being a good advocate means listening with respect to the fears and worries of non-welcoming community members. If you dismiss their concerns as prejudice or selfishness, you will not win hearts and minds.

Instead, acknowledge that things are changing, and find out what their wishes are. Remind them that refugees, and many other immigrants too, come because they are trying to get away from terror and conflict, not bring it with them, and that engaging people and making them feel welcome is the best prevention. Reminders of immigrant ancestors are also helpful with some groups.

You can also highlight the positives that immigrants bring with them. Find common ground by identifying similar values that newcomers have with non-welcoming community members – work ethic and resilience, religious and traditional societies, family values – and build your advocacy around that. You will find there are plenty of things that some refugee groups have in common with the more conservative Americans, who may resent newcomers simply because they don’t understand them.

4) Buy a shirt and wear a message of welcome to newcomers

You can wear a message of welcome when you are out and about in your city. USAHello sells shirts with the message “Welcome. This is your home, too” in eight different languages. Proceeds support our work. Buy a shirt now.

5) Work with your city and county officials to declare your community a welcoming city

Welcoming America is a national movement that encourages cities and towns to become more inclusive places.

6) Teach children about refugees and other newcomers both at school and at home

Teaching children about refugees can be a challenge but is also an important thing to do. Here are some ideas to help you talk to your children about refugees.

7) Hire newcomers and learn inclusive employment practices

Research shows refugees and other newcomers are very valuable parts of the workforce. Hire them! Then, consider ways to promote English language learning on the job. Your company can give employees time during their workweek to earn their GED® diplomas using our free GED®  preparation course.

If you are looking for additional support on how to hire and work with employees who are refugees or immigrants, you can find more resources and technical support from our friends at Higher Advantage.

If you own a business, please sign the We Hire Refugees declaration today! Even if you aren’t in a position to hire refugees, you can still sign the declaration to support and welcome refugees. Let’s speak with a louder voice about how refugees make our companies, economy and communities stronger and advance initiatives that support refugee resettlement.

8) Plan or attend an event for World Refugee Day or Welcoming Week

World Refugee Day (June 20th) is a day to celebrate the strength and resilience of refugees around the globe. Many communities across the United States host events during the month of  June. Welcoming Week is celebrated each September. Visit our friends at WeAreAllAmerica.org to find an event in your community.

Learn more

Refugees shaking hands

Help refugees and immigrants in the USA

By donating to USAHello, you support the technology and education that help newcomers succeed in the USA.

Donate today