Biden Administration signs executive orders

Biden in Oval Office

President Biden was sworn into office on January 20, 2021. His administration has already signed several executive actions that include coronavirus response, the environment, workplace protections, regulation and immigration. 

An executive order is a directive made by the President of the United States asking federal agencies to take a specific action.

An executive order is different than a bill or an act that is sent to Congress. An executive order does not require legislative approval. On his first day in office, President Biden also introduced the Citizenship Act of 2021 to Congress who will vote on the bill later this year.

The six orders impacting immigration are:

  1. Repeal the travel ban (also known as the “Muslim ban”). 
  2. Extend protection from deportation and work authorization for Liberians under the DED program until June 30, 2022. 
  3. Direct Congress to permanently protect DACA program recipients. 
  4. Stop construction of the border wall. 
  5. Require non-U.S. citizens to be included in the US Census count for redrawing congressional districts in 2021. 

President Biden had signed a 100-day pause on deportations executive order. The order would focus deportations only on certain groups such as those that are convicted of serious crimes or pose a threat to national security. The State of Texas sued the Biden Administration saying the pause on deportations violates the U.S. Constitution, federal laws, and an agreement between Texas and the Department of Homeland Security (DHS). On Tuesday, January 26, a judge temporarily blocked the 100-day pause on deportations.

You can view all the Biden Administration’s executive orders on the White House website

Here are some highlights of other executive actions taken this week:

COVID– Expanded coronavirus response including a 100 day nationwide mask wearing challenge, extension of the pause on evictions, rejoining the World Health Organization, increased support for vaccine roll out, and an extension of the pause on student loan repayment. Learn more on our coronavirus information hub.
– Require the use of masks on air travel. People coming to the U.S. from other countries will be required to show proof of a negative COVID-19 test.
– COVID-19 restrictions for people traveling to the U.S. from the Schengen Area, the United Kingdom, Ireland, Brazil, and South Africa due.
Environment– U.S. will rejoin the Paris Climate Agreement, cancel the Keystone XL pipeline agreement, and review environmental actions taken by the last administration.
Civil Rights– Enforce protection from discrimination on the basis of gender and sexual orientation.
– Reverse ban on transgender Americans serving in the military.
– Increase protections from discrimination for workers and review government policies to improve racial equity.
Economy– Establish the foundation for $15 minimum wage in federal jobs and restores the rights of federal employees to bargain collectively and join unions.
– Requires federal agencies to improve access to federal programs to help people who have suffered job loss, food and housing insecurity, and increased challenges due to the coronavirus.
Opinions expressed and advice given in USAHello’s Voices and Hello blogs are the writers’ own. USAHello offers impartial information and online courses to help newcomers in the USA.